Palazzo Pitti


It dates back to 1458 and it was the official residence of Florentine banker Luca Pitti. Two names are mentioned when it comes to the design of the palace – the first one is Filippo Brunelleschi, and the other one is Luca Fancelli who continued with the palace construction after Brunelleschi died. The palace is situated on the south side of River Arno in Oltrarno district, very close to the famous Ponte Vecchio. The Medici family bought the palace in 1549 and for a long time, the palace was the residence of Florence's rulers. Somewhere around 1919, King Victor Emmanuel III donated it to Italian people and the Italian state, which transformed it into the largest museum complex in Florence.  Today Palazzo Pitti is a great example of innovative Renaissance architecture, with richly decorated rooms, beautiful Boboli Gardens, and several important museums: The Palatine Gallery, The Silver Museum, The Costume Museum, The Porcelain Museum, The Gallery of Modern Art, The Royal Apartments, The recently acquired Contini-Bonacossi Collection.